why Nicki Minaj’s “Anaconda” is not okay

4:49pm

Aside from being terrible music, which is my opinion, there is a specific lyric I find disturbing.

“Yeah, this one is for my bitches with a fat ass in the fucking club

I said, where my fat ass big bitches in the club?
Fuck the skinny bitches, fuck the skinny bitches in the club
I wanna see all the big fat ass bitches in the motherfucking club
Fuck you if you skinny bitches WHAT?”

Listen. I’m all for loving your body and celebrating curves. But body positivity is NOT hating skinny people. Body positivity is loving all body types and understanding that everyone is beautiful in their own way. You do NOT call skinny people “anorexic” or tell them to “eat a sandwich.” And you don’t tell heavier people they should “stop being lazy.”

I understand your need for a provocative verse. But you are a popular, mainstream artist. (Artist is a loose term.) People who know their work is mainstream and widely listened to have a responsibility to not perpetuate ignorance and stupidity. I know most people aren’t going to take this verse literally or anything like that, but the few that will are reason enough not to spread this kind of attitude.

And if that’s not reason enough, think of how many eight year old girls are going to scream these lyrics with no idea of how wrong it is to do so.

>,

Stephanie

Leave a Reply

